Struggling with the ds3 boss order? Look no further! In this comprehensive guide, we will help you navigate through the challenging world of Dark Souls 3, ensuring you conquer every boss and emerge victorious.

Slave Knight Gael dark souls

Base Game Boss Order

Follow this recommended boss order for the base game of Dark Souls 3 to make your journey smoother and more enjoyable:

  • Iudex Gundyr
  • Vordt of the Boreal Valley
  • Curse-rotted Greatwood
  • Crystal Sage
  • Deacons of the Deep
  • Abyss Watchers
  • High Lord Wolnir
  • Old Demon King
  • Pontiff Sulyvahn
  • Yhorm the Giant
  • Aldrich, Devourer of Gods
  • Dancer of the Boreal Valley
  • Oceiros, the Consumed King
  • Champion Gundyr
  • Dragonslayer Armour
  • Lothric, Younger Prince and Lorian, Elder Prince
  • Ancient Wyvern
  • The Nameless King (optional)
  • Soul of Cinder

2DLC Boss Order

After completing the base game, you can move on to the two DLCs: Ashes of Ariandel and The Ringed City. Here’s the recommended boss order for the DLCs:

Ashes of Ariandel

  • Sister Friede
  • Champion’s Gravetender and Gravetender Greatwolf

The Ringed City

  • Demon in Pain, Demon from Below, and Demon Prince
  • Halflight, Spear of the Church
  • Slave Knight Gael
  • Darkeater Midir (optional)

Again, for visual guidance on each DLC boss fight, search for the respective boss name in Google Images.

Tips for Defeating Bosses

To make your Dark Souls 3 experience less frustrating and more enjoyable, here are some helpful tips for defeating bosses:

  • Learn the boss’s attack patterns and adapt your playstyle accordingly.
  • Take advantage of weaknesses, such as elemental damage types or status effects.
  • Use the environment to your advantage, such as hiding behind pillars or exploiting terrain.
  • Upgrade your weapons and armor to maximize damage output and survivability.
  • Manage your stamina wisely, ensuring you have enough to dodge or block attacks.
  • Be patient and don’t get greedy with your attacks.
  • Summon help from other players or NPC phantoms if you’re having trouble.


What is the recommended ds3 boss order for beginners?

For beginners, it’s advised to follow the main storyline and tackle optional bosses when you feel comfortable.

The suggested order is: Iudex Gundyr, Vordt, Curse-rotted Greatwood, Crystal Sage, Deacons of the Deep, Abyss Watchers, High Lord Wolnir, Old Demon King, Pontiff Sulyvahn, Yhorm the Giant, Aldrich, Dancer, Oceiros, Champion Gundyr, Dragonslayer Armour, Twin Princes, Ancient Wyvern, Nameless King, and Soul of Cinder.

Does the ds3 boss order change with the DLCs?

Yes, the boss order changes when considering the DLCs.

After the base game’s final boss, Soul of Cinder, players should tackle the DLC bosses in the order of their release: Sister Friede, Champion’s Gravetender, Demon Prince, Halflight, and Slave Knight Gael.

Can I fight the ds3 bosses in any order I choose?

Dark Souls 3 has a somewhat linear structure, but you can choose to tackle optional bosses as you come across them.

The game allows you to explore and progress at your own pace, but some areas will be more challenging than others if you deviate from the recommended order.

Richard is an experienced tech journalist and blogger who is passionate about new and emerging technologies. He provides insightful and engaging content for Connection Cafe and is committed to staying up-to-date on the latest trends and developments.