Understanding the Civ 6 difficulty levels is crucial to enhancing your Civilization VI gaming experience. This all-inclusive guide provides an in-depth look into each level, its challenges, and the rewards you can expect.

Civilization VI

Understanding the Basics

Civilization VI offers eight difficulty levels, each providing a unique gaming experience. These levels influence the AI’s bonuses and player’s penalties. The goal of each player should be to understand these levels and adopt strategies that maximize their performance.

Settler Difficulty Level

As the name suggests, the Settler level is perfect for newcomers to the Civilization series. The game mechanics are simple, and the AI opponents aren’t aggressive. If you’re a beginner, this level will help you understand the game’s basic concepts without overwhelming challenges.

Chieftain Difficulty Level

The Chieftain level is a small step up from the Settler level. The AI becomes a bit more challenging, and you’ll need to start thinking about your civilization’s growth strategy. Still, the level is beginner-friendly and a great way to continue learning the game’s mechanics.

Warlord Difficulty Level

The Warlord level is where things start to heat up. AI civilizations get more aggressive, and you’ll need to start focusing on military strategies to protect your civilization. It’s a good balance of challenge and accessibility for those who have mastered the basics.

Prince Difficulty Level

The Prince level is considered the game’s baseline. Here, the AI and the player are on an equal footing, with no penalties or bonuses. It’s a safe playground for learning strategies and testing your civilization’s strengths and weaknesses.

King Difficulty Level

The King level is a significant jump from the Prince level. The AI becomes smarter and more aggressive, and managing your civilization becomes more complex. This level is perfect for seasoned players looking for a challenge.

Emperor Difficulty Level

The Emperor level is where the real challenge begins. The AI gets significant bonuses, including an extra settler, a free builder, additional warriors, and a 16% bonus to faith, science, and culture. It’s a level for players who have mastered the game’s mechanics and are looking for a serious challenge.

Immortal Difficulty Level

The Immortal level is just one step below the hardest level. The AI becomes incredibly advanced, and every decision you make can significantly impact the outcome of your game. Only experienced players should attempt this level.

Deity Difficulty Level

The Deity level is the most challenging level in Civilization VI. The AI is at its most advanced, with substantial bonuses that make winning the game a true achievement. It’s a level designed for expert players who are seeking the ultimate Civilization VI challenge.

Tips to Beat Deity Difficulty Level

  • Focus on Defense: The AI at this level is very aggressive. So, ensure you have a robust defense strategy.
  • Be Aggressive Early: Don’t wait for the AI to attack. Be proactive and attack early.
  • Form Alliances Quickly: Alliances can provide you with crucial support in battles.
  • Archers are Important: Archers can significantly strengthen your defense.
  • Focus on the Early Game: The decisions you make early in the game can impact the outcome. So, make sure you have a strong start.


Understanding the Civ 6 difficulty levels is crucial to enhancing your Civilization VI gaming experience. Whether you’re a beginner or an expert player, there’s a level that suits your skills and offers the challenge you seek. So, explore each level, understand its challenges, and choose the one that best fits your gaming style.


What are the differences between the civ 6 difficulty levels?

Each level offers a different degree of challenge based on the AI’s abilities and bonuses. The higher the level, the more advanced the AI, and the greater the challenge.

What is the most challenging civ 6 difficulty level?

The Deity level is the most challenging level in Civilization VI. The AI is at its most advanced, making it a tough challenge even for expert players.

What is the best civ 6 difficulty level for beginners?

The Settler and Chieftain levels are ideal for beginners. They offer a balanced gaming experience that allows new players to understand the game’s mechanics.

Richard is an experienced tech journalist and blogger who is passionate about new and emerging technologies. He provides insightful and engaging content for Connection Cafe and is committed to staying up-to-date on the latest trends and developments.